FREE GROUND SHIPPING  on orders over $39.95

There are no items in your cart.

Pea Protein For Vegetarian-Friendly Protein Supplements

Whether they're vegetarian for health reasons or simply want to live a cruelty-free lifestyle, there are many reasons that people pursue a meatless lifestyle. While there are a lot of health benefits to being vegetarian or vegan, people with specialized diets need to take care to get all of the nutrients that they need. Supplements, like pea protein, can help fill in the gaps of any diet to ensure proper nutrition.

One issue that vegetarians often face is getting enough protein. Protein helps build strong muscles and burn fat, and it's a crucial part of a healthy diet. People who are deficient in protein often lose muscle definition and can have problems regulating their blood sugar, so it's important to get enough of it.

The majority of plant-based foods are high in carbohydrates but deficient in protein. Most common protein sources are from animals, such as meat, eggs and milk. Non-animal protein sources like soy can still be problematic due to common soy allergies. Similarly, wheat proteins contain gluten, which can cause digestive problems in people with gluten sensitivities. A better solution for cruelty-free eaters is pea protein powder, which is made from the natural proteins in legumes.

Like beans and lentils, peas are legumes. This means that they're packed with protein and fiber, and they help build the corner stone of vegetable-based diets. Their high fiber content makes them hard for some people to digest, though, and not everyone can palate their taste. In order to get the full benefits of pea protein without the drawbacks, you can take it in supplement form.

Pea protein can be used just like any other protein powder, and it has none of the taste or texture problems that you might associate with eating straight peas and beans. Pea protein is hypo-allergenic and cruelty-free, so people with specialized diets don't have to worry about hidden ingredients in their supplements. Most protein powders are made with whey (dairy), soy (a common allergen), or rice (difficult for those with grain sensitivities). Pea protein offers an allergen neutral source of this vital nutrient without the risk of aggravating other dietary sensitivities.

The fact that pea protein is both dairy-free and grain-free makes also makes it a popular choice for those who are following the Paleo diet. The Paleo diet focuses on what ancient man ate and usually includes lots of fruits, vegetables, lean meats, and nuts while limiting all processed foods and most grains. Pea protein can be a great way to get an extra boost of protein while adhering to this dietary choice.

In addition to pea protein powder, OVitaminPro carries a wide selection of vegan vitamins and minerals. By avoiding animal sources in out supplements, we provide a high-quality array of products to people on any sort of diet.